How to find out if your Facebook account has been hacked
How to find out if your Facebook account has been hacked

This is what you need to do if your Facebook account is hacked

There is always a chance someone can obtain your password and log into your online account. And, Facebook is no different.

Hackers can breach a Facebook account in different ways. For instance, spammers hack Facebook accounts to gain access to your following. Similarly, automatic logins through Facebook allow hackers access to several different site accounts once they have taken over your Facebook account. Your account also provides the hacker a lot of personal information about you that can be used to steal your identity.

However, there is a simple way to check if you are worried that your account has been hacked. Go to the arrow in the upper left-hand corner of your Facebook page and click on it. In the menu, choose Settings. A new menu will pop up. Select Security and then Where You’re Logged In.

It will provide a list of all the devices that you have logged into and their locations. If there is a login you are not able to identify, there are chances that you may have been hacked. If you notice anything that is not you, click End Activity on the right side of the log to end the session. The hacker will be logged out, momentarily.

In addition, below are some other ways to know if your account has been hacked:

• Your name, birthday, email or password has been changed
• Someone sent out friend requests to people you don’t know
• Messages have been sent from your account, but you didn’t write them
• Posts are appearing on your timeline that you didn’t post

Steps to be taken if your Facebook account has been hacked

Once you click on End Activity, change your password right away. Subsequently, get Facebook’s help. In the event you have been hacked, Facebook has a system to help you.

Go to the Facebook help page, click on I think my account was hacked or someone is using it without my permission, and then click on secure it. Facebook will take you to a page where you log in and then follow the steps to secure your account.

Source : CNET